Sunshine State Young Readers Award Jr. 2019-20

What is SSYRA?
The Sunshine State Young Readers Award (SSYRA) Program is a statewide reading motivation program for students in grades 3 through 8, in a collaborative effort between the Florida Association of Media in Education (FAME) and the Florida Department of Education (DOE). The purpose of the SSYRA Program is to encourage students to read independently for pleasure and to read books that are on, above, and below their reading level in order to improve their reading fluency.

How many books do my students have to read to be eligible to vote?
Based on the subject and reading level not all books will be suited for all students; for this reason students only need to read, or have read to them, 3 books from the list in order to vote in the spring. We understand that many schools offer incentives for students to read more than 3 SSYRA books. That is a local decision made by the individual schools or school districts, and is not required by the SSYRA Committee, FAME, or the Florida DOE.

How are the books chosen?
SSYRA Committee members read between 250-300 books each year from which they choose the 15 books for the elementary list. The SSYRA Committee will consider the following evaluative criteria for selecting fifteen unique titles for each list:
• High degree of reader appeal;
• Representation of various genres on each list;
• Favorable reviews located in standard selection sources;
• Theme, plot, and characters appropriate for audience and purpose;
• Author’s use of language and its effect is appropriate to the author’s intent and theme;
• Due to cost, the list should have only 1-3 titles that are available only as hardbound. The rest of the titles must be available in paperback.

What are the criteria used for selecting SSYRA books?
The selected books must meet the following criteria for eligibility:
• Books must be works of fiction;
• Books must be appropriate for students in grades 3-8;
• Books appearing on the Florida Teens Read list are not eligible for selection on the SSYRA list;
• Books must have been originally copyrighted within the three years preceding selection;
• Books must be in print at the time of selection;
• The winning author of any one year will be excluded from competition the following year;
• Only one title of any one author will be included on the current list;
• Authors included on preceding lists may be repeated, but titles of previously nominated books may not be repeated;

SSYRA JR Book Lists 2019-20.pdf

SSYRA JR Book Lists 2019-20 Grs. 3-5.pdf